Inclusive Choir – Bristol

The Soundabout Inclusive Choir in Bristol launched on Sunday 13th September 2020.
 
The choir, which is being run virtually via Zoom during the pandemic, welcomes people of all abilities and ages to create a musical community without barriers. Rehearsals take place on alternate Sunday mornings at 11am. 
 
The choir is directed by Emma Hughes with support from choir interns, Belle Allen and Ellen O’Brien, who encourage all members to contribute ideas for repertoire, and to build up confidence to lead on particular songs. As a result the music we perform is very varied. There are always lots of opportunity for performance, both recorded/in the media and live.
 
To get an idea of how the choir works, please watch this BBC News piece about our Oxford Choir.
 
Thanks to MyCool Music Foundation, The Bramble Charitable Trust, The Lalonde Trust, Paradigm Norton Trust, Basil Brown Charitable Trust, VWV Charitable Trust.

Download: Bristol Inclusive Choir Dates Summer Term

Rehearsal Dates
Sunday 28th March
Sunday 11th April
Sunday 25th April
Sunday 9th May
Sunday 23rd May
Sunday 6th June
Sunday 20th June
Sunday 4th July
Sunday 18th July
Sunday 1st August
Sunday 15th August
Sunday 29th August

Our experience in Oxford has shown us the powerful impact that an inclusive choir has on all involved – creating a musical community around children and young people with disabilities builds confidence in their own musicality and ability to form relationships. Some of the members will be singers, others may use technology or traditional instruments to make their contribution – all are welcome. Our team is aspirational in our approach and we are always looking to create exciting opportunities for leadership and performance within the choir.
Clare Cook
CEO, Soundabout