Inclusive Choir – Oxford

Soundabout launched its first inclusive choir in Oxford on the 3rd March 2019. The ‘Pop-Up’ Choir meets at the North Oxford Association Community Centre* and is open for all people of all abilities to sing, make music and perform together – the choir is fully inclusive and accessible.

Following on from the success of their inclusive ‘jamming session’ for BBC Music Day 2018 at Didcot Parkway Station and working with Steph Pirrie of the Jericho Singers, Soundabout created a regular opportunity for people of all ages with learning disabilities to collaborate with the thriving community of Oxford. The choir runs on alternate Sunday afternoons at 3.30pm*. 

Our Oxford choir is directed by Sophia Nicholls, whose son Matthew lives with a profound learning disability, and Soundabout Practitioner Emma Hughes, accompanied by pianist Martin Pickett. Jericho Singers choir director Steph Pirrie mentors the choir team.

If you are a parent or carer, living with a learning disability yourself, or are a singer who would be interested in getting involved, please fill in the form below to register your interest. It’s free to join in, with the option of making a suggested £5 donation.

*Whilst we are all managing social distancing, the amazing Soundabout Inclusive Choir is now being run virtually. Please email choir@soundabout.org.uk for more information.

We’re so excited to be running this new initiative which we hope will build a community of support around families living with a disability, increasing our reach to people with disabilities who could benefit from the opportunities to make music and make positive connections. Everybody is welcome!

Rehearsal Dates
Sunday 28th March
Sunday 11th April
Sunday 25th April
Sunday 9th May
Sunday 23rd May
Sunday 6th June
Sunday 20th June
Sunday 4th July
Sunday 18th July
Sunday 1st August
Sunday 15th August
Sunday 29th August

Download: Oxford Inclusive Choir Dates Summer Term